PLANSWIFT
SUPPORT
Start a new topic

Network Storage Problems

Hey guys.  I am an IT tech helping a construction company install a NAS.  I know there is an article which states that "cloud storage" is not recommended but this is something our company really needs.  I also had a Planswift tech tell me that nearly 50% of customers have network locations and I can't imagine they are able to work if they have the same lag issues I have.  I have set up and installed a local NAS to have all of our jobs/templates in one central storage location.  Previously, two computers shared the data by having one machine share out its files to the other.  This caused problems on multiple levels.  Thus, installing the NAS was an attempt to fix some of this.  

The current issue is that any modification to a file on the NAS takes 9-10 seconds to respond and stop lagging.  Even simply drawing a line.  Both PC's have gigabit ethernet and far exceed minimum system requirements.  The folder structures on the NAS are all setup correctly and confirmed by a Planswift tech.  The NAS is a 4TB Western Digital with gigabit ethernet.  Authentication settings are wide open and the NAS is set up for performance.  I've ran diagnostics and watched the NAS performance diags and see no problem on this end during use of these files.  There only thing between these three devices (2 pc's & NAS) is a 10/100 TP Link switch.  Is this the bottleneck?

If there is anything you guys can think of to help I would GREATLY appreciate it.  

There are a couple of things to keep in mind when you're facing speed issues with Planswift. 

Planswift in it's current form is a 32 bit application, so it will have a limit of how much RAM it can actually use. Windows will cap PlanSwift at 2 gigs of RAM usage. Now when it starts to get close to it's cap, it can bog down, and it can crash out.  A couple of things can help with this: 

1.) Having at least 4 to 6 gigs of RAM, 4 gigs is the minimum we recommend.